Thread: Do i become a knight of the information age?

Do i become a knight of the information age?

Obscure title perhaps, but i refer of course to those bohemian speed demons, bicycle couriers.

Last summer i graduated in geology, worked in the mines over the summer for experience, an then landed this job in November. I currently work in an office job entering data, I have my own office, flexible working hours, nice conditions and easy atmosphere. Its not what i graduated in, but at least its easy money till I go to Australia or Canada later in the year.

The problem is, I hate it. Sure, by the numbers it seems handy, but I feel I am learning nothing, and wasting my youth sitting on chair watching my XXX grow. The lure of being an unfettered bicycle courier is stronger than ever.

I am an experienced cyclist, and quite capable. The conundrum is that i will give up this warm, indoors job, for a minimum wage, all weathers job, which I hold in high regard, but may end up hating the reality of.

I need advice?! Anyone have any experience as a courier, is it as bohemian and fun as i think? should i stay where I am and watch my soul decay? or should i stop dreaming and grow up?
    There was a demon that lived in the air. They said whoever challenged him would die. Their controls would freeze up, their planes would buffet wildly, and they would disintegrate. The demon lived at Mach 1 on the meter, seven hundred and fifty miles an hour, where the air could no longer move out of the way. He lived behind a barrier through which they said no man could ever pass. They called it the sound barrier.

Quote Originally Posted by Mucusaur View Post
    Obscure title perhaps, but i refer of course to those bohemian speed demons, bicycle couriers.